Milk’s Macaron Ice Cream Sandwich

IMG_2722

Milk, you speak to me in more ways than I could imagine. From ice cream, desserts (cakes, cookies), coffee & tea, even soups, salads, sandwiches, and more, you fulfill my needs to my belly in one stop. If you were located in SF I would get diabetes (perhaps obese too) from coming here every day.

IMG_2736

IMG_2738

Milk, you have it all. But let’s get real here, you know we all come here for the ice cream and desserts. Ice cream is all about variety. And by variety I don’t mean just ice cream flavors, but even the way you eat it. Drumstick and ice cream bar? Pretty normal fare.  Cookie ice cream sandwich? Getting more creative. Macaron ice cream sandwich? Yes, that’s a winner!

IMG_2725

Dipped in chocolate, coated with thick icing glaze, drizzled with caramel, smothered with cookie crumbs, topped with slivers of almond, Milk’s gigantic macaron ice cream sandwiches are not for the weak of heart.  They’re stacked together neatly behind a clear refrigerated shelf filled with nut encrusted drumsticks and chocolate sprinkled ice cream bars.

IMG_2724

With flavors ranging from Thai tea to Banana Dulce de Leche, Milk doesn’t fail to give me just what I need.

IMG_2729

Salted Caramel must be my weakness.  Any ice cream store that serves a rendition of the flavor makes me curious about the comparisons to the notoriously infamous salted caramel ice cream served by Bi-Rite Creamery in San Francisco.  Naturally, I choose the Salted Caramel Macaron Sandwich, followed by the Banana Dulce de Leche one.

IMG_2728

IMG_2731

A generous chunk of salted caramel ice cream wedges in between two thin, light brown macaron discs, and buttery caramel crisscrosses the top in a haphazard hatch pattern. Needless to say, I am getting what I paid for! The macaron was surprisingly chewy (good for macaron) considering it has been sitting in a freezer. I taste the caramel’s creamy sweetness before the salt sinks in. Blended with satiny vanilla flavors, the salt adds a nice punch to the overall taste.  Banana Dulce de Leche, another favorite of avid Milk customers, is available by the scoop or can be served in ice cream sandwiches.  Decadent caramelized bananas hit the sweet spot, but the banana flavor did not overpower the rich caramel.

IMG_2741

IMG_2742

Moving onto desserts, Blue Velvet Cake and Ooey Gooey Chocolate Cookie catches my eye.  A slender slice of Cookie Monster blue cake layered with cream cheese frosting and fresh blueberries go for $5. Belying its fluffy look, the moist cake is dense, thick, and a little bit sticky. While I enjoy the novelty of the cake having blueberries, being colored an intense cookie monster blue, and tasting lightly of chocolate, I wish it had a punch of blueberry to it as well.

IMG_2732

While the Ooey Gooey Chocolate Cookie is not as ooey gooey as the name implies, it’s definitely chewy and chocolaty.  Their desserts change from time to time, but solid choices such as Blue Velvet Cake and their assortment of cookies are here to stay.  My verdict? Desserts are probably not worth the price, but the ice cream definitely is. In fact, I’m so addicted to Milk that I’ve been to the shop twice within one vacation trip to LA. I may just have to move down there!

During the seasons, there might be holiday treats! Don’t forget to swing by for those too!

Are you hooked onto Milk now? Don’t forget to grab a pint when you leave, so you can last longer than five minutes after you finish your treat before you want to go back in.

-Bernice

Milk
7290 Beverly Blvd
Los Angeles, CA 90036
(323) 939-6455
http://www.themilkshop.com

One thought on “Milk’s Macaron Ice Cream Sandwich

Leave a comment