Life in Paris as a Pastry Student

I’m back! And hopefully, to stay for a while. It’s been one year since I’ve updated this blog, and so much has changed since, with the biggest update being that I’ve finally started pursuing my dream of becoming a pastry chef. I currently attend Ferrandi’s international program in Paris, and it’s already been one and a half months since I’ve started. From tarts to chocolate bonbons, I’ve made a new thing every day since I’ve been here (and unfortunately wasted…there’s one thing they don’t tell you about being a pastry student, and it’s that you bring way too much of everything you make home everyday).  With so much material, it’s hard to cram them all in one post…but here’s a peak at the things I’ve made so far.

Apple tart slice week 1 (1 of 1)

Week 1 was tarts~ Pictured above was apple tart, made with apple compote and lined with golden apples

Apple tart week 1 (1 of 1)Another variation, but this time in round tart shell form.

Millefeuille week 1 (1 of 1)A classic mille-feuille paired witha  pastry cream mousseline.

Paris Brest week 1 (1 of 1)And perhaps my favorite, Paris Brest.

I’ll write more later, as class at Ferrandi starts early (7:30am to be exact, but we’re expected to arrive at class as much as 30 minutes early to clean our tools, disinfect the tables, etc).

 

Leave a comment