Hong Kong food diary: Tea Wood

Tea Wood tea wood menu

There’s a saying in Cantonese that says “行到邊食到邊”, which means to dine wherever one goes to. Being a picky eater, I’m not one to usually follow this advice, but I take it to heart whenever I’m in Hong Kong. There’s simply no genuinely bad food in the city. Desperate for relief from the blazing heat and fatigue from shopping all over Jordan and TST one evening, I ventured into a small plaza after seeing Tea Wood’s placard on the restaurant directory. I had been wanting to visit ever since seeing photos on my Instagram feed of gorgeous honey toasts and mouthwatering Taiwanese noodles.

Tea Wood cafe is a Taiwanese nature-themed eatery meant to create a temporary escape from the concrete jungle of Hong Kong. Brightly-lit, simply decorated, and with touches of green everywhere, it’s a cute and refreshing spot for a quick lunch or dinner between friends and couples. After flipping through their voluminous menu (and endless fruit teas and smoothies drinks list!), I decided on the wheat bran milk tea (胚芽奶茶), roasted pork noodles (醬燒豬軟骨麵), and brown sugar ginger duck (黑糖薑母油嫩鴨).

Tea Wood Meal

Barley Tea

The wheat bran milk tea was very refreshing; the milk tea itself was unsweetened, but all the sweetness came from the honey mixed into the crunchy wheat bran at the bottom.

Ginger duck

The ginger duck was a tad cold, but the meat was tender and silky soft. Even though the sugar ginger mash on top has quite a bit of oil mixed into it, it’s not perceptible in taste. I was surprised by how un-spicy it was given all the ginger, but wished it could have been less sweet.

Pork noodles Pork noodles 2My favorite dish of the night were the noodles, which were super thick and chewy. The bay leave fragrant broth was rich and flavorful without being too salty,and an abundance of pickled snow cabbage added a sweet crunch. The star that stole my heart was the roasted pork though. Tender cartilage was interspersed between layers of melt-in-your-mouth meat, and the layers of fat that sandwiched the entire cube was soft and spongy.

Tempted as I was, I was way too full to order the stacked honey toasts and cake selections from the dessert menu after I was done eating, although I’ll keep it on my eating list next time I visit one of its multiple stores in the city. Or just perhaps, I’ll find myself a better version of the carb-filled dessert at some other dinner cafe in the city wherever my feet take me. There’s no bad food in Hong Kong after all.

-Cynthia

2 Carnarvon Plaza, 20 Granville Road (2nd floor)
Tsim Sha Tsui

尖沙咀加拿芬道20號加拿芬廣場2樓

Leave a Reply

