Paris pastry binge: L’Éclair de Génie

I’ve found that the best things come when you don’t look for them. It’s certainly the case for encounters with memorable people, but this time more specially, pastries. As was the case with any respectable dessertaholic, Christophe Adam’s eclair-dedicated boutique was on my list of shops to visit, but it was by accident that I stumbled across it while wandering the cobblestone paths of the 4th arrondissement. Pictures online of bejeweled pieces painted in ruby and lime green fondant had my mouth watering months before I made my way to Paris, but seeing first-hand an abundance of decadently decorated eclairs lined in neat rows took my breath away.

L'eclair de Genie shop front (1 of 1) Eclair display (1 of 1)L'eclair genie shop interiorChocolates & booksShop interior (1 of 1)Eclairs display
Truth be told, if I hadn’t eaten so much that morning at Blé Sucré, I would have picked up one of every eclair to try. But as it was, we picked the following three: passion-raspberry, pralinè noisette, and pistachio raspberry.

Eclairs (1 of 1) Eclairs 2 (1 of 1)Pistachio EclairThe pistachio raspberry was a beautiful work of art. The mild pistachio cream helped to offset the tartness of the raspberry filling inside, but what I loved most was the fluffy texture of the cream and soft, almost custardy insides of the choux.

Passionfruit (1 of 1) Passionfruit cross section (1 of 1)

The passionfruit eclair was the perfect balance of sweet and tangy, something I don’t find very often in tart desserts. Assuming the glaze on top to only be passionfruit sugar glaze, I was pleasantly surprised to find it to be constructed of incredibly fragrant marzipan.

Hazelnut eclair

I had prepared for the hazelnut eclair to be incredibly rich and sugary, but it was just the right amount of sweetness. The slight hint of burnt sugar on top of the hazelnuts contrasted nicely with the custardy cream. I loved all the eclairs I tasted, and wished I had ordered the ice cream ones as well to see how the choux crust will hold when filled with ice cream in a freezer. It’s a definite repeat the next time I go to Paris, but until then, I’ll feed my urges with the two eclair books I bought inside the store. Hopefully with a bit of luck, a large French dictionary, and multiple tries, I’ll be able to achieve one-third of what I had in Paris.
L’éclair de Génie
14 Rue Pavée, 75004
Paris, France

 

2 thoughts on “Paris pastry binge: L’Éclair de Génie

  1. I love your blog, your posts are beautiful and everything looks amazing! I just followed you, it would be great if we can support each other 🙂 I am so glad I got to discover you ❤

Leave a Reply

