Lottie’s Creamery Isn’t A Complete Hit

IMG_1273

I must have developed a Pavlovian response to the words artisan and ice cream placed in conjunction with each other, for as soon as I found out that Lottie’s Creamery was being compared to Ici, I headed straight to the ice cream shop to test, ignoring the inner voice that tells me I’m supposed to go on a diet. By the time I got there, I saw a promising line out of the door; your usual crowd of skinny high school girls now on summer break and the odd mother with her overly excited children. It took about five minutes for me to get in the door, and another fifteen as the kids in front of me sampled all the possible flavors of the day. It certainly didn’t help that there was only one person working behind the counter.

photo (8)

IMG_1285

IMG_1313

IMG_1305

My Photo (1)

IMG_1311

IMG_1281

My Photo

As usual, I first tried out the flavor with the word rose in it. However, the intense smoky fragrance of cardamom overpowered any hint of rose, and I promptly skipped to sample the apricot crumble (which was too sour) and the malt chip (which had an odd flavor that didn’t quite agree with my taste buds). Surprisingly, this was my first time not wanting to order all the flavors I tried. Not wanting to hold up the line behind me, I ordered Blue Bottle Coffee, figuring it to be a safe choice.

IMG_1317

Unlike the milky ice texture of Ici’s confections, the ice cream is very thick and creamy in texture. There’s almost a custard like richness inside, and the coffee was strong and aromatic. However, I tasted a slight hint of sourness to the coffee that I was unaccustomed to, which quickly washed away with another bite. Perhaps I should have went with the plainer flavors like chocolate and vanilla, but unique flavors were what drew me to the ice cream shop in the first place. I’m a tad disappointed that Lottie can’t be my Walnut Creek alternative to Ici, but I’m willing to give it another chance as the shop refines its  ice cream making techniques and flavors; according to the staff Lottie is only 3 months old. Meanwhile, I’ll leg it to Berkeley for my ice cream fix of unusual flavors.

-Cynthia

Lottie’s Creamery
1414 North Main Street
Walnut Creek, CA 94596

http://www.lottiescreamery.com

Leave a Reply

